Doublegate Inn

The Doublegate Inn was built in 1919 by the Anderson family of Portland.  The Anderson brothers had a livery in Portland, and started a limousine service from Portland to the mountain area.  The Andersons’ son “Sunny Jim”  helped Billy Welch, son of the town of Welches’ founder, clear the land across the street for one of Oregon’s first golf courses.  The home was sold during the Depression, and the Bowman family later bought it and raised their children in the home and built the Resort at the Mountain and the shopping center, and expanded the golf course.  The foothills surrounding the home are where Native Americans came from their reservation to pick huckleberries.  The Salmon River, behind the home, is where the Indians camped and fished.  What is now the golf course across the street was where the Indians turned out their horses. 

The Doublegate is an enchanted old home that has had many lovely and happy people live and visit through the years.  Not only is it one of the oldest private estates in the area, but a place visitors can actually stay in. The area of Welches has always been a place to stop and relax and and stay the night.

  • Visitor center nearby
  • Fee required for lodging
  • Located on private land

Get more information on this area from

National Geographic